John Green wins Best Author’s Note Ever award

It’s a prize I just made up, but still. John Green wins.

The book world has been abuzz over Green’s latest novel, The Fault in Our Stars, for many moons, and finally, I have a copy in my happy little hands. I’m nervous about it, not because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it (which I totally have), but because John Green is a super fantastic writer who makes me FEEL things and THINK about things with my heart and my head.

As soon as I opened TFiOS, I knew I was doomed. Doomed to feel and to think. And, probably doomed to love it, too.

It almost didn’t even matter what came after it, because the Author’s Note was so fantastic and so right and so true, that I FEEL and THINK it should be included in every novel ever written from now on. I’m trying to make you money here, John Green. There’s probably a large, untapped market for Permanent Author Notes. Maybe.

AUTHOR’S NOTE
This is not so much an author’s note as an author’s reminder of what was printed in small type a few pages ago: This is a work of fiction. I made it up.
Neither novels nor their readers benefit from attempts to divine whether any facts hide inside a story. Such efforts attack the very idea that made-up stories can matter, which is sort of the foundational assumption of our species.
I appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Wow, you guys. It made my little author-crushing, story-loving, book-obsessing self tear up.
Stories matter! Fiction is important! YA books are in no way Less Than all of the Serious Literary Works!
There is so much that John Green says in those few sentences, and I love every word of his message.

And then I started reading the actual book, and by page 37 I was 100% in love with the main characters and the unfolding tale. Heaven help me.

John Green. You win again. Please keep your acceptance speech under three minutes, then exit stage left.

4 comments on “John Green wins Best Author’s Note Ever award

  1. Alison D. says:

    My new favorite habit is going back through my books and reading the author’s notes, dedications, and acknowledgement pages. This is definitely a good one!

    • SavannahB says:

      I do that, too! I also have about six different versions of my own ded pages in my head. For when I get published. After I finish writing. 🙂

      • Alison D. says:

        Me too! I wonder if I should thank a whole group in case I’m a one book wonder, or try writing a series so everyone can get their own book. Which is a super embarrassing thing to admit to a stranger…

  2. capillya says:

    I just bought this two days ago so it better be good!

Leave some love

