Wither, Fever, Sever, Fizzle

I had such high hopes for the Chemical Garden trilogy after I read Wither. It could go places! It could do things!

The premise of Wither had so many options of what could happen: there’s the fact that the new generation of kids are dying before they reach real adulthood, that adulthood is thrust upon teenagers who can never be fully prepared, that someone somewhere surely has the cure. I loved the sister-wives, how they grew individually and as a “team.”

I loved Linden, even though maybe I wasn’t supposed to? Maybe I was supposed to love Gabriel more?

And then Fever. I feel bad because I’ve disliked so many (wimpy? rushed?) second books lately. The only middle-of-three books I have loved in recent memory are the Hunger Games’ Catching Fire, and the second Lumatere Chronicles book, Froi of the Exiles.

In any case, Fever did nothing for me. I felt like it was slow and sluggish (yes, I get that they’re doped up the whole time, so it’s bound to be odd).

I did like the characters at the gypsy camp/circus/freak show/brothel, though.

And then Sever. Honestly, by this point, I was on fizzle. The whole story had tuckered me out, and not in a good way.
I was intrigued by Linden’s uncle… but not enough to even finish the book. I know. It’s terrible that I’m even reviewing a series I didn’t finish.
It’s just that the Chemical Garden tril started out so strong, but, for me, eventually became a self-fulfilling prophesy, and Withered on the vine.

It may end up being your favorite trilogy ever, though. So read it, maybe?

Image

